Wednesday, November 11, 2009
Tired...and a little defeated
I have to say that it is tiring never being able to be right about anything. Exhausting, actually. In reality, it has nothing to do with being right--it has everything to do with being heard. I could care less about being right (unless I really am SURE that I am right on the FACTUAL level)--there is really no right and wrong with feelings I don't think. That is the problem with a thinker and a feeler being married--1/2 the time it is also the problem between men and women. I don't necessarily have logic or rationale behind the way I think and feel--and just because I can't provide the rationale or logic, well, it doesn't mean that I am wrong. I can't "win" no matter what route I take, however--and it isn't even winning. If I "argue" my case, I have to provide rationale for everything that comes out of my mouth--which isn't always there--and even if I am able to put up some sort of "reasonable" defense, I am never right and can never defend myself. Not "arguing" my case is not an option either, however--I am not allowed to just sit and listen--and it isn't even about winning--just like its not about being right--what I have to say is never taken for what it is and digested--its argued and battered about--like a cat playing with a 1/2 alive mouse--eventually for self-preservation the mouse just plays dead--I can't even flippin' play dead! Why is it that I always leave the conversation feeling like the villain and feeling like I should apologize? With a relatively reasonable person (I did say relatively) such as myself, it really is not statistically possible that I am "wrong" EVERY SINGLE TIME WE "TALK." I wish I had found my voice before I got married.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment